Signal Integrity Tutorial

Live Support

 

Fastviewer

In this tutorial about Signal integrity SI the basic concepts of high-speed data transmission are explained in individual short films. Given that digital signal lines in the PCB layout are longer than the critical length, then they are no more normal lengths but transmission lines. That means high-speed signals have to be considered in specific design rules. Such design rules you will find on your component data sheet or you determine them yourself with an SI simulation of the signal integrity.

Signalintegrität Tutorial

Critical length

By transmission of digital signals the property of the transmission line changes. With short line lengths the signal stays nearly unchanged. With long line lengths reflections and delays occur. The critical length of a line indicates when the connection has to be considered as transmission line. The cirtical length is calculated from the signal speed and the rise time.

 

Propagation Delay

We compare between two sort of lines concerning lines on a PCB. The microstrip line is on outer sides and has only one reference plane, while the stripline runs on inner layers between two reference planes. The propagation speed of the signal at a stripline calculates simply because only one dielectric constant (εr) must be taken into account and it usually results a value around 15 cm/ns.  In case of a microstripline there is air or protective lacquer on one side and the calculation is more complex. The transmission speed to microstrip lines is faster as on inner layers.

 

Incident Wave 

If a driver is connected to a long line, it "sees" at the beginning only a transmission line. The amplitude of the driving signal depends on the impedance and the internal resistance of the driver. The stronger the driver is, the smaller is his internal resistance. From the measured first amplitude the internal resistance of a driver can be calculated.

 

Reflections

Whenever a transmitted signal strikes a discontinuity in the impedance, there will be reflections. Causes of discontinuities are: Impedance change (layer structure), vias or impedance loads. The amplitude and the polarity of the reflected wave is the product from an incident wave and the reflection coefficiency. The signal voltage is the sum of the incident wave and the (positive or negative) reflected wave. Even reflected signals are reflected back to the driver after they have completely run back from the receiver to the driver.

 

Transmission Line

Earlier connections on printed circuit boards could be assumed to be ideal, since the applied signal arrived almost simultaneously at the receiverIn today's high frequencies and fast rise times it comes to different signals at the transmitter and receiver. The connections on the PCB must be accepted as an equivalent circuit of cascaded RLGC elementsThus, the AC behavior changes especially for high frequencies.

© 2019 FlowCAD

Signal Integrity Tutorial

Live Support

 

Fastviewer

In diesem Tutorial zur Signalintegrität SI (engl. signal integrity) werden in einzelnen kurzen Filmen die Grundbegriffe der High-Speed Datenübertragung erklärt. Wenn digitale Signalleitungen im PCB Layout länger sind als die kritische Länge, dann sind es nicht mehr normale Leitungen, sondern Übertragungsstrecken (engl. Transmission Line). Das bedeutet, High-Speed Signale müssen spezielle Designregeln berücksichtigen. Solche Designregeln entnehmen Sie ihrem Datenblatt der Bauteile oder ermitteln diese selbst durch eine SI-Simulation der Signalintegrität.

Signalintegrität Tutorial

Kritische Länge (critical length)

Bei der Übertragung von digitalen Signalen ändert sich die Eigenschaft der Übertragungsstrecke. Bei kurzen Leitungslängen bleibt das Signal nahezu unverändert. Bei langen Leitungslängen kommt es zu Reflektionen und Verzögerungen. Die kritische Länge einer Leitung gibt an, ab wann die Verbindung als Übertragungsstrecke (Transmission Line) betrachtet werden muss. Die kritische Länge berechnet sich aus der Signalgeschwindigkeit und der Anstiegszeit.

 

Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit (Propagation Delay)

Bei Leitungen auf einer Leiterplatte (PCB) wird zwischen zwei Leitungsarten unterschieden. Die Microstripline ist auf Außenseiten und hat nur eine Bezugsebene (Reference Plane), während die Stripline auf Innenlagen zwischen zwei Bezugsebenen verläuft. Die Ausbreitungsgeschwindigkeit des Signals bei einer Stripline berechnet sich einfach, da nur eine Dielektrizitätskonstante (εr) berücksichtigt werden muss und es kommt meist ein Wert um die 15 cm/ns raus. Bei einer Microstripline ist auf der einen Seite Luft bzw. Schutzlack und die Berechnung ist komplexer. Die Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit auf Microstriplines ist schneller als auf Innenlagen.

 

Incident Wave (einlaufende Welle / Anfangsamplitude)

Wenn ein Treiber an eine lange Leitung angeschlossen ist, "sieht" er zu Beginn nur eine Transmission Line. Die Amplitude des Treibersignals ist abhängig von der Impedanz und dem Innenwiderstand des Treibers. Je stärker der Treiber ist, desto kleiner ist sein Innenwiderstand. Aus der gemessenen ersten Amplitude kann der Innenwiderstand eines Treibers berechnet werden.

 

Reflektionen

Immer wenn ein übertragenes Signal auf eine Diskontinuität der Impedanz trifft kommt es zu Reflektionen. Ursachen für Diskontinuitäten sind: Impedanzwechsel (Lagenaufbau), Durchkontaktierungen oder Impedanz-Lasten. Die Amplitude und die Polarität der reflektierten Welle ist das Produkt aus der Incident Wave und dem Reflektionskoeffizienten. Die Signalspannung ist die Summe der Incident Wave und der (positiven bzw. negativen) reflektierten Welle. Auch reflektierte Signale werden wieder am Treiber reflektiert, nachdem sie komplett vom Empfänger zum Treiber zurückgelaufen sind.

 

Übertragungsstrecke (Transmission Line)

Früher konnten Verbindeungen auf Leiterplatten als ideal angenommen werden, da das angelegte Signal quasi gleichzeitig am Empfänger ankam. Bei heutigen hohen Frequenzen und damit schnellen Anstiegszeiten kommt es zu unterschiedlichen Signalen am Sender und Empfänger. Die Verbindungen auf der Leiterplatte müssen als Ersatzschaltbild aus kaskadierten RLGC Elementen angenommen werden. Somit ändert sich das Wechselstromverhalten insbesondere für hohe Frequenzen.

Here are the 10 Top Reasons to Move Up to Allegro 17.2-2016 Release... Mehr...
This week, you can view a video where a customer describes how they used the Cadence® Sigrity™ PowerSI® tool to enable their team to run what-if cases... Mehr...
Gewürdigt wurden zahlreicher Pioniere der Elektronik sowie ihrer Unternehmen, darunter auch Cadence und FlowCAD in der Kategorie EDA.... Mehr...
Die Präsentationen der PCB Roadshow 2017 von FINELINE Schweiz und FlowCAD Schweiz stehen zum Download bereit.... Mehr...
© 2017 FlowCAD